10sBalls.com • TennisBalls.com

Tennis News From The Priceline Pharmacy Kooyong Classic • Hurry Buy Tickets

David Goffin of Belgium in action against Jo-Wilfried Tsonga of France during their single match of the Davis Cup Final between France and Belgium at the Pierre Mauroy Stadium in Villeneuve-d’Ascq, France, 26 November 2017. EPA-EFE/YOAN VALAT



Exciting player field at the 2018 Kooyong Classic


The Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club is Australia’s spiritual home of tennis. In 1988, the Australian Open moved from Kooyong to Melbourne Park. The Kooyong Classic was established in 1988 and continues to be a favourite amongst the world’s top players.


The player field in 2018 is going to be very strong, with 4 out of the top 10 men’s players competing at the event starting on the 9th of January, 2018.


The field is made up by Belgium’s David Goffin, Dominic Thiem (AUT), Marin Cilic (CRO), Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP), Kevin Anderson (RSA), Richard Gasquet (FRA) and Yoshihito Nishioka (JPN). Representing Australia in this year’s battle is world number 76 Matthew Ebden.


For the second year running, four women will be competing. Swiss superstar Belinda Bencic, who is currently partnering Roger Federer at The Hopman Cup in Perth, Andrea Petkovic (GER), Destanee Aiava (AUS) and Chinese teenager Ying Yu Wang.


Some Past winners of the Kooyong Classic are Roger Federer, Fernando Verdasco, Kei Nishikori and Lleyton Hewitt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *