10sBalls.com • TennisBalls.com

Humbert, Baez climb as new ATP rankings determine Indian Wells seeding

With the BNP Paribas Open getting underway this week in Palm Springs, the ATP rankings as of Monday, March 4 will be used for seeding. Every one of the top 32 players in the world are on the entry list for the Indian Wells Masters and are expected to play in Tennis Paradise.

Jiri Lehecka and Lehecka Korda moved into seeded spots (both up four places) following quarterfinal efforts last week at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships.

Ugo Humbert claimed the Dubai title and has climbed to a career high of 14th in the rankings, giving him a top-16 seed in Indian Wells. The Golden Swing wrapped up on Sunday with Sebastian Baez triumphing in Santiago, taking him to career-best No. 19. Alex de Minaur lifted the trophy in Acapulco, but he was the defending champion so he did not gain any points and actually fell from ninth to 10th. Casper Ruud, who lost to De Minaur in the final, rose back into the top 10 at No. 9–coming up just short of a top-eight seed in the desert.

The BNP Paribas Open draw ceremony will take place on Monday afternoon before main-draw action begins on Wednesday.

Here are the seeds:

  1. Novak Djokovic
  2. Carlos Alcaraz
  3. Jannik Sinner
  4. Daniil Medvedev
  5. Andrey Rublev
  6. Alexander Zverev
  7. Holger Rune
  8. Hubert Hurkacz
  9. Casper Ruud
  10. Alex de Minaur
  11. Stefanos Tsitsipas
  12. Taylor Fritz
  13. Grigor Dimitrov
  14. Ugo Humbert
  15. Karen Khachanov
  16. Ben Shelton
  17. Tommy Paul
  18. Frances Tiafoe
  19. Sebastian Baez
  20. Alexander Bublik
  21. Adrian Mannarino
  22. Francisco Cerundolo
  23. Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
  24. Nicolas Jarry
  25. Jan-Lennard Struff
  26. Lorenzo Musetti
  27. Tallon Griekspoor
  28. Cameron Norrie
  29. Sebastian Korda
  30. Tomas Martin Etcheverry
  31. Felix Auger-Aliassime
  32. Jiri Lehecka

Ricky contributes to 10sballs.com and also maintains his own tennis website, The Grandstand. You can follow him on Twitter at @Dimonator.