10sBalls.com • TennisBalls.com

TennisBalls News • Nadal And Djokovic Still On Collision Course In Paris, Shapovalov Sends Berrettini to London

By Ricky Dimon

Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic are one round away from a potential head-to-head final at the BNP Paribas Masters after winning their respective matches on Friday. After Djokovic crushed Stefanos Tsitsipas 6-1, 6-2, Nadal ended Jo-Wilfried Tsonga’s run with a 7-6(4), 6-1 victory.

The bigger story, however, was the completion of the 2019 Nitto ATP Finals field. Gael Monfils’ 6-2, 6-2 loss to Denis Shapovalov allowed Matteo Berrettini to clinch the eighth and final spot.

“It was one of those matches where nothing was really going wrong for me,” Shapovalov said. “I felt like any shot I hit was finding its way into the court…. Everything went for me, so I am super happy to get the win.”

“To be honest, Denis outplayed me,” Monfils admitted. “It wasn’t the best match I played, but I think I couldn’t have [done much] better today. I gave everything I had, and Denis was just too good for me today.”

“I would have never thought I could qualify a couple of months ago,” Berrettini noted. “I am just so happy to be among the Top 8 in London. It is a great satisfaction and the reward for the superb work that my team, my family and of course myself have put in place this whole year. Now we prepare for the final show. I will be ready.”

Saturday’s semifinals in Paris pit Djokovic against Grigor Dimitrov and Nadal against Shapovalov. Dimitrov was a 6-2, 7-5 winner over Christian Garin.

Novak Djokovic…..bye…..d. Moutet…..d. Edmund…..d. Tsitsipas
Grigor Dimitrov…..d. Humbert…..d. Goffin…..d. Thiem…..d. Garin

Denis Shapovalov…..d. Simon…..d. Fognini…..d. Zverev…..d. Monfils
Rafael Nadal…..bye…..d. Mannarino…..d. Wawrinka…..d. Tsonga

1. Novak Djokovic: vs.Dimitrov in SF
2. Rafael Nadal: vs. Shapovalov in SF
3. Roger Federer: withdrew
4. Daniil Medvedev: l. to Chardy in R2
5. Dominic Thiem: l. to Dimitrov in R3
6. Alexander Zverev: l. to Shapovalov in R3
7. Stefanos Tsitsipas: l. to Djokovic in QF
8. Karen Khachanov: l. to Struff in R2
9. Roberto Bautista Agut: l. to de Minaur in R2
10. Matteo Berrettini: l. to Tsonga in R2
11. Fabio Fognini: l. to Shapovalov in R2
12. David Goffin: l. to Dimitrov in R2
13. Gael Monfils: l. to Shapovalov in QF
14. Diego Schwartzman: l. to Edmund in R2
15. John Isner: l. to Garin in R2
16. Stan Wawrinka: l. to Nadal in R3

Ricky contributes to 10sballs.com and also maintains his own tennis website, The Grandstand. You can follow him on twitter at @Dimonator.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *