10sBalls.com • TennisBalls.com

TennisBalls News • Rafa Nadal Defeats Stan Wawrinka, Monfils Still In Running For Nitto ATP Finals Spot

By Ricky Dimon

Rafael Nadal advanced to the quarterfinals of the BNP Paribas Masters with a 6-4, 6-4 victory over Stan Wawrinka on Thursday night. Nadal saved the only two break points he faced while prevailing in one hour and 27 minutes.

“My serve worked well and the volley, too,” the second-ranked Spaniard commented. “I have been going to the net a couple of times, serve and volley. I think I have been focussed and tried to hold the serve during the whole time.

“I think my game worked well. On the return today (it) was a little bit difficult. I think I didn’t return as well as I was doing previous days…. But it’s true that Stan always has a good serve and (it) is difficult to read. So (it) was an important victory for me, honestly, against a tough opponent again.”

Both Nadal and Novak Djokovic will face tough opponents in the quarters on Friday. Up next for Nadal is 2008 Paris champion Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, while Djokovic is going up against familiar foe Stefanos Tsitsipas. The top-ranked Serb booked his spot in the last eight by beating Kyle Edmund 7-6(7), 6-1.

It will be a big Friday for the French fans, and not just because of a Tsonga vs. Nadal showdown. Gael Monfils is one win away from a place in the Nitto ATP Finals and can clinch a second trip to London with a quarterfinal win over Denis Shapovalov. Monfils overcame Radu Albot in three sets after Shapovalov also required three sets in an upset of Alexander Zverev.

Novak Djokovic…..bye…..d. Moutet…..d. Edmund
Stefanos Tsitsipas…..bye…..d. Fritz…..d. de Minaur

Christian Garin…..d. Cuevas…..d. Isner…..d. Chardy
Grigor Dimitrov…..d. Humbert…..d. Goffin…..d. Thiem

Denis Shapovalov…..d. Simon…..d. Fognini…..d. Zverev
Gael Monfils…..bye…..d. Paire…..d. Albot

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga…..d. Rublev…..d. Berrettini…..d. Struff
Rafael Nadal…..bye…..d. Mannarino…..d. Wawrinka

1. Novak Djokovic: vs. Tsitsipas in QF
2. Rafael Nadal: vs. Tsonga in QF
3. Roger Federer: withdrew
4. Daniil Medvedev: l. to Chardy in R2
5. Dominic Thiem: l. to Dimitrov in R3
6. Alexander Zverev: l. to Shapovalov in R3
7. Stefanos Tsitsipas: vs. Djokovic in QF
8. Karen Khachanov: l. to Struff in R2
9. Roberto Bautista Agut: l. to de Minaur in R2
10. Matteo Berrettini: l. to Tsonga in R2
11. Fabio Fognini: l. to Shapovalov in R2
12. David Goffin: l. to Dimitrov in R2
13. Gael Monfils: vs. Shapovalov in QF
14. Diego Schwartzman: l. to Edmund in R2
15. John Isner: l. to Garin in R2
16. Stan Wawrinka: l. to Nadal in R3

Ricky contributes to 10sballs.com and also maintains his own tennis website, The Grandstand. You can follow him on twitter at @Dimonator.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *