10sBalls.com • TennisBalls.com

Tommy Haas Enjoys “One of the Most Special Days of My Life” In Win Over Tennis Legend John McEnroe In Hawaii

BNP Paribas Tourney Director Tommy Haas beat John McEnroe 7-5 Sunday in the one-set final of the Hawaii Champions Cup Presented by Hawaii Tourism Authority at Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows on the Kohala Coast. The win marked the second title for Haas in his second appearance on the Invesco Series QQQ, the North American tennis circuit for champion tennis players over the age of 30, and also was the anticipated first-ever competitive match between the 59-year-old veteran McEnroe and the 40-year-old Series rookie.


“It was one of the most special days of my life to be honest, to play this icon, this tennis legend,” said Haas after his win over McEnroe, the four-time U.S. Open and three-time Wimbledon champion. “I would have loved to have played him on tour, but he retired a little bit too early. It was a real pleasure. I love watching him and hearing him speak about tennis. Everything about him, I truly love. He gave his best. What he does at 59 is incredible.”


Haas won his debut event on the Invesco Series QQQ last month in Charleston, S.C., defeating Andy Roddick 6-1 in the final. With his tournament win in Hawaii, Haas collects another 400 Invesco Series QQQ ranking points to create an early commanding Series points ranking lead.


Haas, who turned 40 on April 3, ended his career on the ATP World Tour last year. The former world No. 2 and silver medalist at the 2000 Olympic Games won his last career ATP match in Stuttgart, Germany last June on grass when he upset Roger Federer in the second round.


McEnroe, playing in his 25th year of “champions” tennis, returned to Mauna Lani Bay, the site of the 1992 USA vs. Argentina Davis Cup first round where he represented Team USA alongside Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi and Rick Leach.


“I’ve always had a soft spot for Hawaii,” said McEnroe. “I don’t get here as much I would like to so it was awesome to get to play this event.”


In the earlier semifinals, Haas defeated Mardy Fish 6-3, while McEnroe defeated Jim Courier also by a 6-3 scoreline.


The Invesco Series QQQ continues on May 17 in Toronto at the RPIA Championship at Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre. The remaining schedule, with player fields, is as follows


2018 Invesco Series QQQ Schedule:

May 17: Toronto, ON (Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre) – John McEnroe, Jim Courier, Tommy Haas and James Blake

July 22: Newport, R.I. (International Tennis Hall of Fame) – Lleyton Hewitt, Jim Courier, Tommy Haas and James Blake

August 19: Winston-Salem, N.C. (Wake Forest University) – Players TBA

August 23, 24: New Haven, CT (Connecticut Tennis Center at Yale) – John McEnroe, Tommy Haas, James Blake and Todd Martin

October 4: St. Louis, MO (Chaifetz Arena) – Players TBA

October 6: Houston, TX (Tudor Fieldhouse) – Players TBA

October 19: Denver, CO (1stBank Center) – Players TBA

October 21: Los Angeles, CA (Sherwood Country Club) – Players TBA


2018 Invesco Series QQQ Results

April 7: Charleston, SC (Family Circle Tennis Center) F: Tommy Haas def. Andy Roddick 6-1; SF: Tommy Haas def. Michael Chang 6-2; Andy Roddick def. Mark Philippoussis 6-3


May 5, 6: Kohala Coast, HI (Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows) F: Tommy Haas def. John McEnroe 7-5 SF: Tommy Haas def. Mardy Fish 6-3, John McEnroe def.Jim Courier 6-3


Each Invesco Series QQQ event features special VIP experiences, including hit-with-the-pros opportunities and special back-stage access. All ticket, experience and event information can be found at www.InvescoSeries.com


In 2017, the year-long points championship was decided in the final match of the season when Andy Roddick defeated James Blake in the Los Angeles final at the Sherwood Country Club. Roddick, the 2003 U.S. Open champion and world No. 1, won four Invesco Series QQQ titles in all in 2017, winning in Birmingham, Ala., Chicago, Lincoln, Neb., and Los Angeles. Blake, the former world No. 4 and former U.S. Davis Cup star, won series titles in Charleston, S.C., Winston-Salem, N.C. and in Lynchburg, Va.


In 2016, Mark Philippoussis won the Series points title with 1600 points and tournament titles in Memphis, Tulsa, Newport, Winston-Salem and New Haven. Roddick finished in second place, also earning 1600 points but losing the head-to-head tiebreaker with Philippoussis 5-2, while winning titles in Charleston, St. Louis, Los Angeles and Orlando. Blake finished in third place with 1100 points and tournament titles in Chicago, Portland and Brooklyn.


In 2015, Roddick won the Series points title in his second year of competing on the series with 1,600 points. Roddick won a record eight events Los Angeles, Lincoln, Chicago, Austin, Little Rock, Dallas, Richmond and Minneapolis. Blake finished second in the points rankings with 1,200 points, winning events in Boston and Cincinnati. Philippoussis finished in third with 1,100 points, winning titles in Salt Lake City and Vancouver. The year before in 2014, McEnroe won the points title for the first time in the nine-year history of Invesco Series QQQ tennis by winning events in Kansas City, Indianapolis, Nashville and Charlotte.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *