10sBalls.com • TennisBalls.com

2022 ATP Tennis Awards Nominations and Ricky’s Picks for the Winners

Andy Murray of Britain reacts while in action against Alexander Zverev of Germany at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. EPA-EFE/RAY ACEVEDO.

By Ricky Dimon

Nominees for the 2021 ATP Awards were announced earlier this week. The Comeback Player of the Year, Most Improved Player of the Year, and Newcomer of the Year, and Sportsmanship Award will all be voted on by the players and will be announced later in December. Trophies will be handed out at the 2022 ATP Cup to recipients who are participating in that team competition.

Here are the lists in addition to my picks to win.

Comeback Player of the Year
Thanasi Kokkinakis
Mackenzie McDonald
Andy Murray
Jack Sock

Who will win? Andy Murray
Who should win? Andy Murray

Most Improved Player of the Year
Carlos Alcaraz
Aslan Karatsev
Cameron Norrie
Casper Ruud

Who will win? Casper Ruud
Who should win? Aslan Karatsev

Jenson Brooksby of the US reacts as he plays Novak Djokovic of Serbia during their match on the eighth day of the US Open. EPA-EFE/JASON SZENES

Newcomer of the Year
Sebastian Baez
Jenson Brooksby
Juan Manuel Cerundolo
Hugo Gaston
Brandon Nakashima

Who will win? Jenson Brooksby
Who should win? Jenson Brooksby

Felix Auger-Aliassime of Canada reacts during his quarter final match against Alexander Zverev of Germany at the Erste Bank Open ATP tennis tournament in Vienna, Austria, 29 October 2021. EPA-EFE/CHRISTIAN BRUNA

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award
Felix Auger-Aliassime
Rafael Nadal
Casper Ruud
Frances Tiafoe

Who will win? Felix Auger-Aliasssime
Who should win? Felix Auger-Aliassime

Coach of the Year
Craig Boynton (Hubert Hurkacz)
Gilles Cervara (Daniil Medvedev)
Juan Carlos Ferrero (Carlos Alcaraz)
Facundo Lugones (Cameron Norrie)
Christian Ruud (Casper Ruud)

Who will win? Juan Carlos Ferrero
Who should win? Facundo Lugones

Players will also vote on the Tournament of the Year in three different categories: Masters 1000, 500, and 250. Coaches will vote on the Coach of the Year and fans will vote on the ATPTour.com Fans’ Favorite (both singles and doubles). The ATP will determine the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award.

Ricky contributes to10sballs.com and also maintains his own tennis website, The Grandstand. You can follow him on twitter at @Dimonator.