10sBalls.com • TennisBalls.com

Tennis • January 2020 • Nadal And Djokovic In ATP Cup, Wawrinka In Doha, Medvedev In Auckland

By Ricky Dimon

Gone are the days when ATP 250 tournaments in Brisbane and Sydney preceded the Australian Open. Even the tournament in India (previously in Chennai, now in Pune) been pushed back from January to February.

Instead, Doha and Auckland are joined by the ATP Cup and Adelaide as Australian Open warmup events.

The inaugural ATP Cup, held in Brisbane, Sydney, and Perth, kicks off the 2020 season on Jan. 3 and runs through Jan. 12. It conflicts directly with the Qatar ExxonMobil Open Doha, but cup participants will be able to compete in either Auckland or Adelaide during week two. Twenty-four countries are ready to battle for the trophy in a second team competition in the span of barely more than two months.

Here is the 2020 ATP Cup field:

1. Serbia: Novak Djokovic and Dusan Lajovic
2. Spain: Rafael Nadal and Roberto Bautista Agut
3. Russia: Daniil Medvedev and Karen Khachanov4. Austria: Dominik Thiem and Dennis Novak5. Germany: Alexander Zverev and Jan-Lennard Struff6. Greece: Stefanos Tsitsipas and Michail Pervilarakis
7. Japan: Kei Nishikori and Yoshihito Nishioka8. Italy: Matteo Berrettini and Fabio Fognini9. France: Gael Monfils and Lucas Pouille
10. Belgium: David Goffin and Steve Darcis
11. Croatia: Borna Coric and Marin Cilic
12. Argentina: Diego Schwartzman and Guido Pella
13. Georgia: Nikoloz Basilashvili and Aleksandre Metreveli
14. South Africa: Kevin Anderson and Lloyd Harris
15. United States: John Isner and Taylor Fritz
16. Canada: Denis Shapovalov and Felix Auger-Aliassime17. Great Britain: Andy Murray and Dan Evans18. Australia: Alex de Minaur and Nick Kyrgios19. Bulgaria: Grigor Dimitrov and Dimitar Kuzmanov
20. Chile: Christian Garin and Nicolas Jarry
21. Poland: Hubert Hurkacz and Kamil Majchrzak22. Uruguay: Pablo Cuevas and Martin Cuevas
23. Moldova: Radu Albot and Alexander Cozbinov
24. Norway: Casper Ruud and Viktor Durasovic

With top players such as Djokovic and Nadal partaking in those festivities, the Doha field will not be as strong as it has been in past years. Among the early entrants, however, are Stan Wawrinka, Andrey Rublev, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, and Milos Raonic.

The Auckland field already includes Daniil Medvedev, Fabio Fognini, Denis Shapovalov, Karen Khachanov, John Isner, and Benoit Paire.

Djokovic recently made a surprise commitment to the new Adelaide tournament, packing his pre-Australian Open schedule. He will be joined there by Alex de Minaur and Felix Auger-Aliassime. De Minaur had been a staple of the Brisbane and Sydney tournaments in recent seasons, even winning his first career ATP title this year in Sydney.

Ricky contributes to 10sballs.com and also maintains his own tennis website, The Grandstand. You can follow him on twitter at @Dimonator.


The newsletter is free! Make sure to tell your tennis friends to sign up to keep up with the latest tennis news & gossip!

Facebook | 10sBalls.com

Twitter | @10sBalls_com

Instagram | @10sballs_com


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *